Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > General Boating Discussion
New to boating, getting big boat and need advice! >

New to boating, getting big boat and need advice!

Notices

New to boating, getting big boat and need advice!

Old 04-20-2005, 01:52 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to boating, getting big boat and need advice!

Hello, this is long but hopefully someone can help

I am brand new to boating. I have always had the dream of having a big fishing boat. I've taken two boat safety courses for the hell of it. I have recently stumbled upon an amazing deal that could make my dream a reality, but I need advice on what to do. I also understand that these estimates are extremely rough.

Boat: Winner 28' 1976 Sportfisher with an inboard Chrysler 360 engine

My budget is around $8,000-10,000 for repairs, hauling, and keeping it at the marina.

1. The boat is at a great price and it's 28' long. However, I'm new to boating and somebody told me that it's to big to start with. I'll never be able to afford another boat if I pass up this deal and it happens to be the boat of my dreams. Is it do-able? Can someone learn on 28 feet?

2. The boat was last tested in 2001, and ran fine. Since then it has been untouched and I can not get any info other than everything worked fine last time it was ran. I looked at the engine and it had some orange sluge and a little water in the engine area. Is this ok? I've done some research and a rebuilt engine cost $2000

3. The boat has no trailer and I can not afford one. How much would a hauler cost to move the boat 70 miles to a boat slip?

4. What could happen to a boat that has been sitting outside for 4 years that might need repairs? I've heard something about the gas

5. Given the limited info about the boat (worked when last ran in 2001), how much can I estimate the boat to cost in repairs and maintinence? Aside from how much the boat cost, how much should I add into the boat loan?