Just When You Thought You Were Out, You Get Sucked Back In >

Just When You Thought You Were Out, You Get Sucked Back In

Notices

Just When You Thought You Were Out, You Get Sucked Back In

Old 07-12-2005, 05:28 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just When You Thought You Were Out, You Get Sucked Back In

I have been boating for 40 years, owned a boat every year for 20 years, been a member here since 2000. My last boat was a 32AT but the cost to operate it became an issue, that and I needed to build another cottage, I have 4 acres on Lake Superior, and I needed a get away. On Memorial Day I find the guy who was logging my land had to go into the State Forrest and stop the Ash Borer, a nasty bug killing millions of trees. So now my plans are shot. This was my "rational" to not buy a boat again but now that was not a good excuse any more. So I went out and bought another boat and I cannot believe I thought I could live without one, what a fool I was. It is nothing like the AT but it gets me out, I can bring the dogs and it can be beached, it still has good speed and is very good on fuel. So now I am back, I have been lurking here but never had anything to add so I just read. Now I can enjoy the water and this site again and realize I cannot live without a boat, ever. It is a 20ft Zodiac RIB, has a Yamaha 4 Stroke EFI 115. It is rated for 11 people or 3200lbs!! The boat weighs 875lbs, the motor 400lbs so 55mph is not a problem. I get 7mpg so far with 4 hours on it, there is a 10hr break-in in the computer so I should see more speed. Over the 4th I went to Grand Mares and we had 9 adults, 3 dogs, 3 coolers and dive gear and we were on plane like a jet ski. It sure is nice to be back on the water. Hope your season has gone well so far. I went from Holland to Grand Haven and back at 3/4 speed and used $25 in fuel, the AT with HP500s would have used $150.
Old 07-12-2005, 05:47 PM
VIP Member
VIP Member

Received 144 Likes on 84 Posts