Notices

rear wings on boats

Old 07-20-2005, 10:06 AM
Registered

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default rear wings on boats

i was glancing thru a speedboat magazine and saw an article about baja trying to reduce drag and make more aerodynamic boats as opposed to stepped hulls. i thout it was interesting that they said a rear wing reduces drag at teh stern of the boat. does anyone have any experience with rear wings or have any input on the subject?
Old 07-20-2005, 10:10 AM
Registered

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: rear wings on boats

I would think that any object like a wing would create drag and slow the boat down
Old 07-20-2005, 10:13 AM
JC Performance Engines
Gold Member

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts

I would think a wing at speed could create lift, and possibly reduce draggin the rear of the boat.
Old 07-20-2005, 10:20 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm not an aeronautical engineer, but doesn't it depend on the shape of the wing whether it produces lift or downforce? For example Indy Cars, Outlaw sprint cars and of course airplanes. I saw the Baja poker run boat last weekend and it has a carbon fiber wing attached to the rear.
Old 07-20-2005, 10:30 AM
Registered

A wing could produce downforce, as it does on a car, or lift, as it does on an airplane. Depends on which side is "up". The force is applied to the flatter, or higher pressure side.

Fabio Buzzi has had wings on a bunch of his boats. They seem to do pretty well. I would think a wing has to be throughly tested tho, to produce the desired effect, and avoid big problems. Too much lift at the rear...can you say STUFF? A lot more complicated than a 20 year old screwing a carbon-esque wing to the back of his civic.
Old 07-20-2005, 10:39 AM
Enjoy the show
VIP Member

Fabio always placed his wings at the exact center of gravity. He also incorporated a ton of dyhedral to help correct any chine walking.

Lifting the whole boat seems safer that just lifting the stern.