Lets talk about Protecting our boats from theft

Notices

Lets talk about Protecting our boats from theft

Old 03-15-2006, 09:52 PM
Charter Member #232
Charter Member

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Exclamation Lets talk about Protecting our boats from theft

I have seen FAR to many boats get stolen on this and other forums over the last few years. Some have never been recovered, others like DamnDonzi and Catmans boats were found but with so much damage that the effort required to fix them is a daunting task.

There are many products out on the market now that can help. I have very little knowledge of products that will keep your boat from being broken into, ie alarms. IMO alarms are finiky on boats at best. There are definatly some on the market perhaps Big Yellow Cat or Andy Buzz can chime in. The problem that I see is that it is so easy to just rip out the alarm and the theif is fine. We all know what happens, or better put does not happen, when that car alarm goes off in the parking lot right!!

IMO the most important thing for you to do is to make sure that god forbid your boat gets stollen, how can you get it back fast. This is a unit that I like a lot http://www.vehicle-tracking.com/products/3100_int.html ANYONE can install it, you can hook it up in a location that it will be VERY hard to find and track it at will. If the theif disconnects the battery then it still can work.

What other products are out there? Anyone? Lets make it harder for these jack azzes to steel our stuff. Perhaps we can get the insurance companies to offer deductions on insurance?

Jon
Old 03-15-2006, 11:21 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Lets talk about Protecting our boats from theft

Jon,

My company sells and installs numerous tracking products. This particular brand I am not familiar with. I did send them an email to contact me and will reply with my opinion after speaking with them.

Andy Buzz
Buzz-Off Alarm Systems
Maximum Audio
Tampa FL