Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   newbee to powerboating looking for advice (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/136442-newbee-powerboating-looking-advice.html)

brdman 07-29-2006 10:54 PM

newbee to powerboating looking for advice

I have been checking this forum out for a little while now and I must say you all are just great people. Its really cool to know that you all stick together and share advice and stories and lend a helping hand where you can. So I hope I can get some direction with my question. I am new to the powerboating scene, so new I dont have a boat yet. I will be a first time buyer soon, I just dont know where to start, I want something I can handle, but I also like speed, I am working with a 60-70k budget to get into my first ride. Any ideas as to what would be a good boat to start with to get my feet wet.. I was thinking about a 25' Baja Outlaw, but there are so many others out their... Please feel free to comment....

LostinBoston 07-29-2006 11:00 PM

Re: newbee to powerboating looking for advice

Depends on where you are boating and your needs. Lake, ocean? small big, family? friends, rafting lunch at shooters? so many boats for so many uses. Speed is great, but it takes a long time to learn how to handle properly. dont be a statistic, start slow and build from there. take some boatsing safety courses, as many as you can. after getting your feet wet for a year step up to tres martins course http://www.performanceboatschool.com/ then decide on something faster.

oldandtired 07-29-2006 11:08 PM