Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Columbus Day Regatta South Florida (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/141435-columbus-day-regatta-south-florida.html)

Lucky Strike Jr 10-01-2006 04:48 PM

Re: Columbus Day Regatta South Florida

Originally Posted by tanner
Bobby,

Are you going to run down on Sat????

I've learned never to make plans in advance....anything can happen :D

Hot4Teacher 10-03-2006 10:26 PM

Originally Posted by asg
count me in... anyone that wants to leave from Ft Lauderdale let me know and we can all leave from here. You can leave a boat in the water overnight here if you want.

OK, I'm back in town and excited to do this thing. Here's my concerns and questions since I'm a newbie to South Florida boating.
1st, I would love to take ASG up on the overnight offer (if it's still available) and launch the boat Friday night to avoid the crowd. But if I run with you guys from Fort Lauderdale will I be able to keep up without scaring the crap out of my wife and beating up my boat. My boat's pretty fast but it's only a 26 ft so if it's rough I might have trouble running with the big dogs. Would I have to make a morning decision and possibly run the ICW down?
2nd, I also may have guests on Saturday that won't be spending the night. I probably want to have them meet me further down south so it's not so far to bring them back to their car. Where would be a good place to meet somebody that is closer to the event?
Thanks,
Jay
[email protected]
954-478-9535

asg 10-04-2006 07:56 AM

I still have room for boats. You can stop by Friday if you want. You can always pick people up at the South Beach Marina. I normally run Out Port Everglades and in Govt Cut in Miami and then down the bay. If it is rough I go in at Haulover and run down the bay the rest of the way.