Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default merc 525

has any one installed whipple superchargers onto a stock 525
Old 11-08-2006, 12:17 PM
Forum Regulator
VIP Member

Received 1,195 Likes on 519 Posts
Default Re: merc 525

There is another current thread about this in the General Discussion. Page 1 or 2.

Do a search for more info as well.
Old 11-08-2006, 02:51 PM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: merc 525

I posted a reply in this thread, check it out.
http://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/s...d.php?t=144514

and ditto to the above comment as well, search button is your friend

[i]orginally posted by pkspx[/]
Originally Posted by Joe
Wow.... From all the experts I spoke with... you're the only one who claims it's a "bolt on" and no internal mods are necessary (for the 525 EFI's).

Are you speaking in general, or do you have specific experience with these motors?
I am no expert. From my experience, dropping in a turbocharger on a car was bolt on and more power for the buck. I didnt want to crack open the engine and void the warranty because it was a lease car and I knew I wanted to give it back. In general, I would think a bolt on supercharger kit might be something well looking into. I have no idea if there are actually any bolt on kits for your 525, but I again, I would have to assume so. I might be wrong, maybe the compression ratio is too high, and boosting it would mean rebuilding it for boost. I do know that thare are bolt on kits for the 454 and 502s.

I found some info for you.
http://www.whipplesuperchargers.com/...sp?ProdID=1180
From www.wipplesuperchargers.com
TAGES 1 & 2 NOW AVAILABLE
Whipple’s Superior Performance: