Notices

Best anchor to use on 28'

Old 01-14-2007, 09:15 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best anchor to use on 28'

I'm looking to get a new anchor for my 28' Powerquest. What do you recommend. Danforth? Plow? Actually I'm looking for everything for this boat, anchor and rope, mooring lines, fenders (not sure what diameter to get). I stepped up from a 21' boat and all the stuff is gonna be too small. Sorry if this a dumb thread, I'm still a newbie to bigger boats.
Old 01-14-2007, 09:23 AM
Forum Regulator
VIP Member

Received 1,195 Likes on 519 Posts
Default Re: Best anchor to use on 28'

www.myrope.com is where I bought personalized lines from.

Top Knot is an OSO sponsor at http://www.mooringlines.com/

I bought all of my fenders and covers from either www.overtons.com and/or www.boatersworld.com

I'd recommend 4 - 6.5" diameter fenders and 2 - 8.5-10" diameter fenders. It may seem like overkill, but others will find you friendly and prepared to tie up to (I won't tie up to someone with shoddy fenders, as they won't protect my boat; unless I have enough fenders to cover both sides of my boat.) Slip on fender covers are preferred by most as they protect against scratches as long as you keep them clean.

Box Anchor: http://www.slideanchor.com/box.asp
Best anchor you will EVER buy. It looks unconventional to folks with no experience, but it really works GREAT. No chain needed, it sets immediately, and it folds for easier storage. If it pulls loose, and/or flips over, it sets itself again. Small would probably work fine for you, but I like overkill so I'd go with the Large, which also gives you room to upgrade to a bigger boat.
Old 01-14-2007, 10:19 AM
Member #154
Platinum Member

Received 864 Likes on 317 Posts

Originally Posted by Sydwayz
Box Anchor: http://www.slideanchor.com/box.asp