Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > General Boating Discussion
Best Buffing Compound for Gelcoat? >

Best Buffing Compound for Gelcoat?

Notices

Best Buffing Compound for Gelcoat?

Old 01-08-2002, 03:03 PM
imq707s

Cool Best Buffing Compound for Gelcoat?

What's the best buffing compund to use for polishing faded gelcoat? I've got a 1985 Scarab that has some faded gel on the deck. What would you suggest? I've tried some automotive paint compunds, but the gel usually fades back in a few days.

Old 01-08-2002, 03:10 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I heard that Waterfoul uses an all natural, protein enriched formula. Only gets about a teaspoon at a time though. Also heard he uses his hairy butt cheeks for the final buffing....
Old 01-08-2002, 03:23 PM
Boat Girl

imq, I'm not a pro or anything, but I discovered something at the boat show called FLITZ...it works awesome, they showed you all the stuff it works on, and it is a restorer...it removes oxidation and stuff...they actually wet sanded a piece of lexan and took a dab of this stuff and viola...anybody else have any experience with this product...I actually went out and got some and am using on my car...the one thing they did say is that it doesnt protect from sun only water, so you would need to use an additional wax for sun protection after restoring the surface...

[ 01-08-2002: Message edited by: Boat Girl ]

Old 01-08-2002, 03:30 PM
NJScarab

3M Ultrafine for light colors It's a polish but it takes out Oxidation like a SOB. Hit it with the high speed and a wool pad and then high speed with a foam waffle pad. She'll be shining.
Mike

Old 01-08-2002, 03:33 PM
VIP Member

I use Meguire's color restorer #44.Then follow with a good coat of wax.Works pretty well at bringing out the color as well as putting the oils back in the gel coat.

Happy waxing.
Old 01-08-2002, 03:33 PM
Registered