Notices

Big Cu. In. engines

Old 06-24-2007, 02:14 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Big Cu. In. engines

Hi Guys, I searched the forums and did not find an answer. I am new to the offshore boating so I hope it is not a dumb question. I understand that in racing the size of a motor will be restricted but for pleasure/ poker run, the biggest size cu. in. motor I have found is the 632. I am just wondering if there are any builders making any 800 cu.in. engines I know that drag racing and marine are totally different but that size motor is used in IHRA drag racing. So I was thinking, on some of the Larger boats 39' and up in stead of triple and quad if a builder could make an 800 cu. in. turbo or supercharged fuel injected motor, you could make some serious tq. and hp.

Now I know with the 800 IHRA engines they are only used a 1/4 mile at a time, but if you spin the motor only to 5500rpms and use quality billet steel parts, I wonder if durability will not be a problem. Also if someone already started a thread on this subject sorry for restarting if you could post a link to the thread that would be great.

Oh and I am in no way in the market for such an engine, this is just a thought I had.

Thanks----Brad

Last edited by B251; 06-24-2007 at 02:18 PM. Reason: content
Old 06-24-2007, 02:49 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Stotler has a 700+ V8. Torque had an 872 V12.

http://www.stotlerracing.com/
Old 06-24-2007, 04:24 PM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

B251,
I like your thinking about big cubes; if you can reliably make decent horspower without extra equipment ( turbochargers, blowers, etc.) I think you're ahead of the game. Bear in mind that the more exotic you get with aftermarket blocks etc., the less you can find off the shelf parts rapidly.
Old 06-24-2007, 04:25 PM
Banned

I have built many IHRA 814+ cu.in Pro Stock engines....just waiting for someone to order a set of N/A marine engines. We can build anything you can dream of.