Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > General Boating Discussion
Looking to buy first boat.  What questions to ask the seller? >

Looking to buy first boat. What questions to ask the seller?

Notices

Looking to buy first boat. What questions to ask the seller?

Old 07-09-2007, 01:42 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking to buy first boat. What questions to ask the seller?

Hello everyone, I'm looking to purchase my first boat. A mid 90's Fountain Fever 29. What questions should I ask the seller? I know to ask how many hours the engines have, but that's about it. What questions are relevant? Anything I should ask specific to this model? Thanks.
Old 07-09-2007, 01:44 PM
Registered

How much.
Old 07-09-2007, 01:53 PM
Registered

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

Are these the shifters or throttles on the left side????
Old 07-09-2007, 01:58 PM
Registered

Come on guys, I know I'm a complete PITA newbie, but please help me out. Is there a FAQ section that might have these answers? I looked, but didn't find one. Thanks.
Old 07-09-2007, 02:00 PM
Registered

Remember, there are no stupid questions.........................only stupid people.
Old 07-09-2007, 02:07 PM
Registered

Originally Posted by sigar
Come on guys, I know I'm a complete PITA newbie, but please help me out. Is there a FAQ section that might have these answers? I looked, but didn't find one. Thanks.
Put a thread in the Fountain section you should see a better response.
Old 07-09-2007, 02:08 PM
Registered

what kind of motor(s), ask for maintenance records, get a survey, ask if it's ever been in saltwater, just the basics, really.

And expect him to lie, so go and verify everything yourself. Get a survey. If it's got an MPI motor, get the computer scanned to get the actual hours. Don't let the seller / broker suggest a surveyor or mechanic.