Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Florida Engineering jobs? (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/165625-florida-engineering-jobs.html)

AIC 08-08-2007 09:45 AM

Florida Engineering jobs?

I know this is a long shot and kind of off topic but, I am a senior Mechanical Engineering student at Manhattan College and I will be graduating in May. It has been a dream of mine to move to Florida after graduation to enjoy some of the greatest boating in the world. Since there is such a large number of OSOers from Florida, I was wondering if anyone is an engineer that can help guide me or anyone that knows of companies that are hiring.

Thank you!

iamjoe 08-08-2007 10:05 AM

Good Luck

I live in Florida and have been searching for construction management work for over a year. I've been in the biz for 27+ years so I am as they say "seasoned". Very little going on here so I have since gone nation-wide in my search. Would love to go back to the Chicago area but I'll go where ever I can at this point.

fantastixvoyage 08-08-2007 10:10 AM

AIC - depends what you want to get into. Turbine is about the only indusrty that sustains a large number of engineers in Florida from what I saw.

I looked at Florida towards my graduation as well but wasn't too thrilled with the market (little different coming from the MotorCity!!!). However, I have seen a very large shift of engineering jobs leaving Detroit for the Carolinas' and Texas...may want to open your options to those areas as well.

Maritime_Eng 08-08-2007 11:04 AM

I am a mechanical engineer and work for a comapany in Naples, Florida. Where are you looking to live? There are alot of engineer jobs in Florida. Most are in the Tampa and orlando area. It all depends on your back ground and emphisis in college. What are you looking to get into?

Hope this helps
Don