Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > General Boating Discussion
Magnum Powerboat in the Carribean? Screenplay writer asks... >

Magnum Powerboat in the Carribean? Screenplay writer asks...

Notices

Magnum Powerboat in the Carribean? Screenplay writer asks...

Old 08-08-2007, 03:35 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Magnum Powerboat in the Carribean? Screenplay writer asks...

I am a writer doing research for a movie screenplay. I've got a serious question and I hope those in the know will blow away my cloud or tell me I am on to something that is plausible.

Bascially I want to know if a chap can cruise the Carribean in a Magnum Powerboat and if so what magnum may do the best job? Can it cruise the Windwards, Martinique to Grenada? Can it moor in St. Lucia close to the Pitons?
What could such a chap encounter with such a boat (reactions by locals, pirates, possible moorings and issues with morring a power yacht, reactions by other yacht-going people).

This screenplay involves a chap and a girl on the run from their past. The law isn't after them, but they both lost their spouses and decide to cruise and find a new way of life. The run afoul of St. Vincentian bad guys. There is murder, intrigue, and lots of local color.

Research will be made real by my taking a boat trip to the Windwards after I collect material. Nice to make new friends here and there!

Props in advance to any and all who reply, incl acknowledgements if the story gets bought.

Cheers !
Kevin N.
Old 08-08-2007, 04:56 PM
Registered

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

I'm assuming you're referring to the Magnum Yachts.
Not sure too many around here will know much about them, but I may be surprised.
This is more of a "go-fast" crowd.
When I think of Magnum, I think of something like the Maltese, or the Sport - 27-28' go fast boats.
Good luck with your story. It sounds interesting.
Personally, It would be a story I would be interested in reading or watching on the screen.