Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > General Boating Discussion
I dont want to blow my engine or drive! >

I dont want to blow my engine or drive!

Notices

I dont want to blow my engine or drive!

Old 09-22-2007, 06:09 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I dont want to blow my engine or drive!

I keep reading about you guys blowing you engine and ripping up drives and I am fairly new to boating and very new to fast boat and I cant afford to go through engines or drives or my next boat will be a lot smaller and named child support! So why do you guys blow engines and drives? Am I to worry when I am running my 454mag and bravo 1 at 5000 rpm?

Give it to me straight.
Old 09-22-2007, 06:29 AM
Registered

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

drives take a chitkicking in rough water or when infront of big power, Bravos that is. Learning to baby the drive out of the hole and to throttle it correctly will save you thousands in the long run. Most smaller, lighter boats with stock power will have good, long service life from the drive if cared for properly. I have seen bravos with 500hrs on them with no failures. Change the oil every 15 to 20 hrs, do not hammer the throttle out of the hole and always pull back when the prop leaves the water and with a stock mag, you will be fine for years.
Old 09-22-2007, 06:51 AM
Registered

I am no expert on drives and motors but you just have to use commen sense.......

1.....always check your oil levels......no oil equals big problems......

2......keep a good maintenance routine.......oil changes often and make sure whoever is doing them does the right job.....and uses the spec oil for your motor and drive....