What would be the perfect boat storage facility >

What would be the perfect boat storage facility

Notices

What would be the perfect boat storage facility

Old 10-07-2007, 10:36 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What would be the perfect boat storage facility

I have the opportunity to purchase 12 acres of land South of Baton Rouge near a boat launch off of the Amite River near Diversion Canal.

I am thinking of building a boat storage facility. The property is not very wide, but very long. I am a general contractor, and have the heavy equipment and manpower to clear the land and build the entire facility.

What are the things you need or want the most at a facility?

What are the things you could do without at a facility?

Should all of the storage be indoor, or some of both? It was suggested to me to also sell gasoline and oils at the site, and most boats would fill up on site.

I would like ideas on the things that other owners are doing right, and what they are doing wrong.
Old 10-07-2007, 01:44 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Is this Johnny Mack? Are you aware of the guy that was gonna build a dry stack in Port Vincent ? I might have some valueable information for you.
Old 10-07-2007, 03:22 PM
OSO OG
Gold Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

PM me any time. I owned a drystack for 7 years. Can give you lots of info.

Bill
Old 10-07-2007, 03:28 PM
Registered

I would definately have it heated if winters are below freezing there. That woudl be a big plus to your renters. Are you thinking more along the lines of rack storage or more of storage type units with each one having their own garage door so they can stay inside but have complete access to their boats at any given time?
Old 10-07-2007, 03:40 PM
Registered

Received 9 Likes on 2 Posts

Have you seen the info for the new Eliminator(i think) storage facility? Might get some ideas from that as well.
Old 10-07-2007, 05:20 PM
Registered