Notices

Steering-Boat Wanders

Old 10-15-2007, 07:27 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Steering-Boat Wanders

I was up in Bay City this weekend to see a friend of mines "New to him" boat. He bought a 26' Carver cabin Cruiser. Single engine I/O Volvo Penta. Older boat but clean with about 1100 hours. We took the boat out and while idling out to the bay the boat wants to wander left to right, so your always fighting the wheel. I didn't think it wasright and if it was my boat it would have driven me nuts. What causes this?
Old 10-15-2007, 07:32 PM
Driver-441
Racer

Received 1,071 Likes on 283 Posts

1100 hours? or 110 hours?
Old 10-15-2007, 07:35 PM
Registered

Talking steering

Duke, A friend of mine had a boat that would constantly do that and it was annoying as hell.I think it was a crownline with a single engine.Other than a bad tiller arm(loose) or a mechanical issue I dont think it can be resolved.Im no expert but I believe it has to do with the overall hull design and the way the nose sits at low speed.Hope it helps.

Brian
Old 10-15-2007, 07:39 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I was out on a cruiser a few weeks ago and I wandered wtf I was doing on a log like that . It's surprising how fast we get spoiled.
Old 10-15-2007, 07:46 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 25 Likes on 16 Posts

It could be bow steer if the drive is tucked in to far, a worn out steering system, fin on the out drive not adjusted and working against rotation of the drive and engine and possible a slight breeze blowing on the side of the hull. If you speed up does it correct it self ? These are just some basic things that could be the cause.
Old 10-15-2007, 07:46 PM
Forum Regulator
VIP Member

Received 1,195 Likes on 519 Posts

That's pretty common on a single engine boat, period.

If he drops the tabs a little, yes it will slow him down; but it should give him a straighter track.