Notices

Who owns the photos?

Old 10-23-2007, 09:10 PM
VIP Member
VIP Member

Received 140 Likes on 80 Posts
Default Who owns the photos?

I noticed that Sharkey has added a disclaimer to some race pictures he posted over in the photos section.

I have been under the assumption he is a freelancer, so I'm wondering how SBI has a say on what he does with his images if he is not under contract with them. Isn't a race like any other sporting event, and in the public domain?

Someone please correct me if I'm wrong. With the exception of reasonable intrusion of privacy, as a photographer, I've always operated under the rule: "If you can see it, you can shoot it."

NAPLES IMAGE Photo Galleries

NAPLES IMAGE PHOTOBLOG
Old 10-23-2007, 09:38 PM
VIP Member
VIP Member

Default Explain to me how this is legal...

Here is what Sharkey sent me:

Yes, I am freelance, but the AMF/Miss Geico Team had asked me to come shoot for them.

Knowing how SBI can be, I decided to ask what I needed to do to be legal to shoot the event. I was told it would cost me $1,000 paid to SBI and that I would have to give SBI a copy of everything I shot as well as sign their contract in which gives them copyrights to the images. Unfortunately they didn't have their contracts on hand, so they have to get one out to me.
I don't see giving up my ownership of my work, so I need to see exactly what their contract states. Also, there is no way in hell I can make up that $1,000 when I may have only shot 8 or 10 boats. I suggested that if they were to get copies of the images, then I felt it was only fair they waive the fee. They said no. I got a verbal ok to put them on the net so as long as I wasn't selling them. And you wonder why I was the only photographer there in a chopper shooting their event.... ?
I seriously don't understand why they chase everyone away...
If some how they end up waiving the fee or someone else picks up the tab, then the pics may be made available.