Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   ??? about buying a boat (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/181755-about-buying-boat.html)

niceguy 03-09-2008 05:24 PM

??? about buying a boat

Ok so I am kinda new to making big purchases with items, when paying in cash.... not financing.

Say you found a boat you like and you live 1000 miles away. You find a surveyor and everything checks out. You've talked to the seller and feel comfortable with the purchase and want to buy it.

Here's my question.... do you drive the 1000 miles with say (just for example purpose) 50k dollars cash and meet the seller in person? DO you use a wire transfer from the bank and trust the seller to meet you with the boat?

Would you feel comfortable counting out and somehow verifying all the bills are real?

Please let me know what you guys have done in the past.

Thanks

CAP071 03-09-2008 05:27 PM

I don't give the guy a penny in cash until I'm there picking up the boat to take it home. Or I will wire it into his account after everything checks out and I'm there to pick it up.

orss 03-09-2008 05:28 PM

go see the boat, put a deposit after all paper are ok and them do the rest of the money via wire transfer.

H20 Toie 03-09-2008 05:33 PM

See the boat in person.

I flew to OK to look at boat, liked it, gave him a deposit and had the money transfered when i went and picked it up.

Sure it costs a little more money and time that way but at least you are sure of what you are getting.

offthefront 03-09-2008 05:41 PM

SEE the BOAT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! no matter what the Survey sez ..... you can wire a depost ..say 1000.00 on a 50K boat ..then when you go see the boat and it all checks out ..then have your bank wire the rest to his bank ...His bank can confirm the transfer .....m

niceguy 03-09-2008 05:43 PM