Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   What's the throttle man doing? (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/186062-whats-throttle-man-doing.html)

fbrs 05-06-2008 06:02 AM

What's the throttle man doing?

Excuse the complete beginner question. Watched all the usual fountain videos on driving, trim etc... cant find anything about what the throttlemans up to. In the race vids hes on and off the throttle, but i cant see the timing. One of the race commentators on an old Apache vid says, "he hasn't flaired it once", i assume he means when the things out the water, let it hit the rev limiter. I guess as you leave the top of a wave if your hard on it you drive the bow high and if you come off you nose dive... So whats he up to and what makes good/bad throttling?

cheers

francis

TeamSaris 05-06-2008 06:13 AM

The throttle man backs off when the props come out of the water. A good throttleman rarely misses and keeps the boat flying level.

fbrs 05-06-2008 06:28 AM

Originally Posted by fast fun 2 (Post 2549034)
The throttle man backs off when the props come out of the water. A good throttleman rarely misses and keeps the boat flying level.

couldnt an electronic rev limiter achieve the same thing? or is the timing coming off the wave the skill? if so what/how... thx

Tom A. 05-06-2008 06:34 AM

A good throttleman backs off the throttles when the props break loose then eases back into once they catch the water again. There were no rev limiters back in the old days and a good throttleman will be better than a rev limiter. As important as throttling, they also set all the trim levels of the drives and tabs to run the boat straight and true and then adjusts everything for the turns. The tandem of driver and throttleman lets the driver focus on steering and watching the course.

Chris Sunkin 05-06-2008 06:56 AM