Notices

New to me boat

Old 11-09-2008, 10:57 AM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default New to me boat

I finally picked up my new to me boat Friday night. I'm just getting into boat as of about 4 years ago and bought an 18' bowrider used as a first boat. It was all over then... This spring I looked around and bought a 23' cuddy with a small block. I should have just waited and found something with a big block in it... SO, all summer I have been "just looking" on craigslist and boat trader, saw this boat back in the summer for $13k, says many upgrades. I let it go, I didn't have the cash so why bother. About a month ago I see the same boat down to $8k and decided to call on it to find out what all the upgrades were. The boat is an 89 Mach 1 2350. The guy tells me the motor is a 454 330hp Merc out of a 98 Checkmate that was installed in it 3 years ago, the Bravo drives as been gone through just as a check-up on it, the interior is brand new 2 years ago, ne gauges, trailer is mint, new bearings, new tires, new bunks, straps, the whole nine. All of the work installing motor and drive has been done by a local high performance shop and he has all the receipts. So I say what the hell and go take a look at it. Loved what I saw and the only thing it needs is new paint and maybe get rid of the teak. I still didn't have ALL of the cash and was honest with the guy and he gave me a month to come up with it. Brought me out for a sea-trial and it ran awesome. Saw 68 on the speedo, I'm sure it's a little off but he said it runs about 63-65 on gps and I believe it. So I finally came up with the rest of the cash and picked it up Friday after work. I'm doing some trade off work with a painter in a couple weeks so the boat will have fresh paint in the spring. I've read a few threads on how to make a race fairing and think I want to go that route with it also. One question, how does the windshield come off???? What do you guys think about the bow rails, should I lose them?? A