Has anyone shipped a prop? >

Has anyone shipped a prop?

Notices

Has anyone shipped a prop?

Old 03-11-2002, 08:40 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Has anyone shipped a prop?

I'm sending my prop off today to be labbed at York Propeller in California.

I don't have the prop's original shipping materials so any information about packing it up safely would be a big help. Also, did you insure your prop when you sent it? For how much? I'm sending a Mirage Plus 23p. How do you think it's worth?

Thanks again to any and all!!!!
Old 03-11-2002, 08:56 AM
Registered
Platinum Member

I have shipped a couple of props so I am not an expert by any means. The easy way is to find a Package Depot, Mailboxes Etc or similar outfit that does packaging. Put the prop in a sturdy box, wrap it in bubble wrap and fill the box with styrofoam peanuts, wadded paper or other filler. Cost for this is small if you have it done. Insure the prop for what it is worth to you. Insurance is not expensive, replacing a prop is. Hope this helps. Maybe others with more experience can offer more.

Larry
Old 03-11-2002, 09:04 AM
Registered

Thanks, Laster. That's the kind of info I was after. I wasn't sure if there was any 'black magic' involved in shipping a prop. I'll just head over to my local Mailboxes etc. and have 'em do it up.
Old 03-11-2002, 09:10 AM
Banned

I have shipped a couple. I took it to a shipping place (mailbox etc, or somethin of that nature) It cost about $16 to ship from Florida to California, and that was including the packaging.
Old 03-11-2002, 09:19 AM
KN
Registered

Someone mentioned on the other thread about lab props, he sent them out in a milk crate, sound like a good idea. My guess is it would be around $400-450 to replace that prop.
Old 03-11-2002, 09:25 AM
Registered

Thanks all. Great info!!!!
Old 03-11-2002, 09:30 AM
Registered

I would go to Mailboxes like everyone has suggested.
Old 03-11-2002, 09:32 AM
Registered