Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Boating in Boston Area ? (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/203040-boating-boston-area.html)

creeper 02-11-2009 12:23 PM

Boating in Boston Area ?

Due to the state of the economy we may be relocating and this is one of the possibilities. Need a little info on the boating in the Boston area? As of now we boat in the northern Chesapeake. And was wondering how and if they compare. Or just some general info. Thanks

fobes 02-11-2009 12:32 PM

3 Attachment(s)
I have been boating in Boston for over 30 years. There is a lot to do including numerous places to eat and drink in the area of the city and both north and south of the city. There are also many islands with old Civil War/WWI and WWII forts to explore. The islands make parts of the harbor well protected, and if it wasn't for the sometimes heavy commercial and private boat traffic, it would be relatively calm. Just north is Salem Harbor and Glocester Harbor and the Annesquam (sp?) river, great daytrips. One of my favorite things to do is sit just off the city early in the morning/late night (especially when the tide is high) and check out the skyline, the city really is at sea level. Attached are some pics from an early fall trip to one of my favorite islands. PM me if you want any more info.
Matt

Sick Stinger 02-11-2009 12:43 PM

There is beyound a ton to do. There are 3 poker runs around the area and off hand can think of 10 great places to stay over nights and so on...
-Mike

creeper 02-11-2009 01:02 PM

Well thanks for the replies,This helps greatly..As I am comfortable on the chessy as I grow up boating there and Florida.So north is all (greek to me).....As for the poker runs not happen in a express cruiser,Sold the sonic 2yrs ago.And in this economy I dont see a second boat comming anytime soon.