Going fast is good, I think

Notices

Going fast is good, I think

Old 09-02-2009, 09:25 PM
Quent
Platinum Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Going fast is good, I think

I've been boating for 40 years, had 40 boats and been married to the same woman on 9/6/09 for 40 years. I just realized this today. No, I didn't forget my anniversary, just the 40 thing.

My focus, when I could afford it, was on the top end number. I invested (blew) much coin to get a bass boat, fishing boat, jet ski, or go fast to do the big number. I had a good time but as I reflect I think I probably was off course a little. Maybe a lot.

The 27 Lavey cat with a 1000HP BBC that ate drives for breakfast is a good example. Nothing wrong fundamentally with boat or engine, just the direction (ego) of the owner. There is some middle ground.

Going fast is fine as long as you are committed with your money. Most of my fellow boating friends are committed to the fast thing, not the money thing. It is not wise to think you can have speed and with no cash commitment. Speed costs money.

So, for most of us we need to decide what is important. After all this time I'll take "good" speed coupled with reasonable manners at cruise, simple operation around the dock, and no drive issues.
Will I be some where back in the pack at the poker run? Probably. But I will be able to run on all the other days of the week? Probably.

Maybe I'm getting old. Actually, I am. 90mph daily for 3 years with nothing but oil changes in the 24 Lavey Ilmor is good. I'll break. Its inevitable. But the time running back in the pack and still be running all the rest of the days of the week has been worth it. To each his own. Got to go buy an anniversary present. Safe boating to you. Quent
Old 09-03-2009, 08:09 AM
Registered