Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > General Boating Discussion
Sea Strainer recommendations.... >

Sea Strainer recommendations....

Notices

Sea Strainer recommendations....

Old 06-01-2009, 10:35 AM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Sea Strainer recommendations....

Well after my overheating problems with the seaweed, im thinking a sea strainer wouldnt be a bad option.

Is there any recommendations for my setup?

94 Baja 272 w/ 330hp Merc 454 and Bravo drive.

Thanks!

Pros and cons of different models would be great, as I have never used a strainer before.
Old 06-01-2009, 12:01 PM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 758 Likes on 348 Posts

I have Marine Machine strainers - they seem to be a REAL nice piece....
Attached Thumbnails Sea Strainer recommendations....-new-engines.jpg  
Old 06-01-2009, 12:34 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by seafordguy
I have Marine Machine strainers - they seem to be a REAL nice piece....
Are those the ones with the aluminum tops and the stainless can? If so have you had any issues with the tops galling?
Old 06-01-2009, 01:49 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 35 Likes on 27 Posts

Originally Posted by daredevil
STAINLESS MARINE ,,,,, nothing else ,,TOP OF THE LINE !!!!!!!!!!
agreed.
Old 06-01-2009, 01:54 PM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Originally Posted by c_deezy
Are those the ones with the aluminum tops and the stainless can? If so have you had any issues with the tops galling?
Yes - mine appear to have coated aluminum tops and the Stainless cans.

I haven't had any problems with them at all - look brand new.
Old 06-01-2009, 01:58 PM
GLH
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 19 Likes on 13 Posts

Get something you don't need a tool to open. I got those for the MTI...

Hardin marine bought them through Keith Eickert Marine

http://www.keitheickert.com/detail.aspx?ID=8918
Attached Thumbnails Sea Strainer recommendations....-sumpnstrain2.jpg  
Old 06-01-2009, 02:21 PM