Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > General Boating Discussion
OT: Considering Career change (long) >

OT: Considering Career change (long)

Notices

OT: Considering Career change (long)

Old 04-09-2002, 10:57 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry OT: Considering Career change (long)

Lately I have been really stressed about my job and the future of it. And when I say future I mean future of the proffesion.
I'm a Product Designer for plastic injection molded automotive components. I've done underhood parts and currently interior and exterior parts.
I love my job and would like to do it until I retire but lately alot of companies have been outsourcing work overseas because it is cheaper. My company currently outsources 30% of our work to India. Well the product we get back is garbage and usually has to be redone BUT to the suits it looks like it was a cost save. More and more companies are doing this , well it doesn't make sense. Send the work overseas and layoff the current staff . Well aren't the people that are jobless the very people that the companies intend on selling these products to ? How can you buy a new car when your layed off ? It doesn't make sense.
The thing I'm worried about is when these overseas companies actually can produce a quality part then what happens to the job market here?
I think I'm going to go back to school and try to learn something else although I don't know what.
I'm just sick of the roller coaster ride of the auto industry. Sometimes I wish I wouldn't have learned a skilled trade. My friend works at UPS and pretty much never has to worry about if he will lose his job.
Does anyone else feel this way or am I just panicing (sp) because the economy is down?
I'm done ranting now ,it's time to start looking at what programs are offered at the local college.
Old 04-09-2002, 11:16 PM
rws
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post