In need of a classic Scarab decoding >

In need of a classic Scarab decoding

Notices

In need of a classic Scarab decoding

Old 01-25-2010, 06:13 PM
VIP Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default In need of a classic Scarab decoding

Hello everyone, My Name is Brian and I am new to Offshore Only. I have recently bought a 1986 38' Scarab project. I will post some pictures, some of you may have seen it on ebay for sale.
But my question is, can someone help decode the serial number? I have attemped to get in touch with Wellcraft but their automated phone send you from customer service option to account receivable and only to leave a message.
Trying to find out what the model is, if it is constructed from fiberglass or kevlar and if the X dimension is higher with offshore motor mounts verses stock mounts?
Looking forward to get this project completed so I can run with you guys and gals on the west end of Lake Erie. (Just can't seem to keep up with a cabin cruiser) Thanks for your help!
Old 01-25-2010, 06:47 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Post some pics of it,I'm sure someone here knows the history an most of the specs. Good luck with the project.
Old 01-25-2010, 07:14 PM
CMC
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Wellcraft is basically out of business. Even when they were open, they were not very helpful. Genmar Marine (Irwin Jacobs) which was the last ownership group, didnt have anything to do with the Scarabs of the 80's. Wellcraft only made replacement parts for any given model for a few years, then most owners went out on their own for parts. Your best bet is to post pics and let the OSO boys help you out.
Old 01-25-2010, 07:22 PM
VIP Member

Here it goes, trying to upload pic. I'll get better daylight pic later.
Attached Thumbnails In need of a classic Scarab decoding-scarab-project-014.jpg   In need of a classic Scarab decoding-scarab-project-015.jpg   In need of a classic Scarab decoding-scarab-project-016.jpg  

Old 01-25-2010, 08:50 PM