525 EFI Reliability, Maintenance, Overhaul Questions

Notices

525 EFI Reliability, Maintenance, Overhaul Questions

Old 03-23-2010, 10:21 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 525 EFI Reliability, Maintenance, Overhaul Questions

Newbie questions here.

I'm new to big boats and looking at a few 40' express cruisers. I'm trying to understand the operating and maintenance costs of 525 EFI motors. Can anyone point me a page or thread that might help answer these questions?

- in a EC boat, how long (hours) should I expect a 525 to run before an overhaul is needed?

- what's a full rebuild of a 525 typically cost?

- how much should I expect to incur in regular maintenance running a pair of 525s?

- does the use of Bravo One XR vs. Bravo Three XR factor into this?

- how long should I expect the drives to last?

- does one typically rebuild or replace outdrives?
Old 03-23-2010, 11:31 AM
Registered

Originally Posted by Ben Diss
Newbie questions here.

I'm new to big boats and looking at a few 40' express cruisers. I'm trying to understand the operating and maintenance costs of 525 EFI motors. Can anyone point me a page or thread that might help answer these questions?

- in a EC boat, how long (hours) should I expect a 525 to run before an overhaul is needed?

- what's a full rebuild of a 525 typically cost?

- how much should I expect to incur in regular maintenance running a pair of 525s?

- does the use of Bravo One XR vs. Bravo Three XR factor into this?

- how long should I expect the drives to last?

- does one typically rebuild or replace outdrives?
with basic maintainence, 525efi can last for several hundred hours before rebuild. These motors are just about bullet proof, if you take care of them.

mercury can rebuild for around $9,000. im sure local motor guys can do it for less. IMO let Merc do it.