Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > General Boating Discussion
OT:  Hey jarheads - looking for exercises for 6-pack abs >

OT: Hey jarheads - looking for exercises for 6-pack abs

Notices

OT: Hey jarheads - looking for exercises for 6-pack abs

Old 04-28-2002, 03:14 PM
kook

Cool OT: Hey jarheads - looking for exercises for 6-pack abs

I've been working out for 20 years or so, but now I've finally dropped some body fat (10 lbs, 5 more to go). I never concentrated too much on abs because I was never chisled. I'm getting there now, and looking for advice for ab exercises. I work out in my basement (free weights), so the exercises need to be pretty simple/basic.

For the past few months I have been doing standard sit-ups, 5 sets of 40 reps, 3x/week. I DO see an improvment in mid-section tone, but want more. Love handles almost gone too, but anything to tone the lower sides I would be interested in too.

Advice appreciated.

-Mark

Old 04-28-2002, 04:59 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Contrary to what we are all told the key to great abs is diet. The more your body fat drops the better your abs will look, also your genetics (unfortunately for most of us) do play a large part. Just keep doing what you are doing and see what happens with another 5# loss. Dwight
Old 04-28-2002, 05:08 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 133 Likes on 82 Posts

kook -

I used to have 'em. They have been incognito underneath a healthy layer of protective insulation for a great many years now but back in the day I used the following routine:

Accessories required: mop or broom handle, closed-cell foam pad for your tailbone.

30 minutes before starting, eat a banana. I always seemed to get "less sore" when doing so (course it coulda been in my head).