Notices

Cigarette vs Donzi

Old 07-10-2010, 08:44 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cigarette vs Donzi

Although I know Cigarette boats I have no experience about Donzi's. What is Donzi quality, is it equal to Cigarette in terms of robustness, performance, handling?
Is there a real justification between the price of a Cigarette 39TG and a Donzi 38R (about 120K USD less)?
Thanks for your opinion!
Old 07-10-2010, 09:56 AM
Registered

Don't know about the Cig, but I bought a 38 ZR w 525s yesterday, (waiting for survey and financing to be done), but I couldnt find anything better performance wise dollar for dollar. Yesterday with 600 pounds of people, 1/3 tank of gas, flat water (no chop), and engines not broken in we hit 88 mph. It sure felt like there was more left also! There are some great bargains on the Donzi's right now, I would definately give them a look. Good luck!
Old 07-10-2010, 10:51 AM
Registered

Can we toss Fountain in the mix just for S n'Gs?

Old 07-10-2010, 11:21 AM
Registered

Received 883 Likes on 479 Posts

Originally Posted by sfcl
Although I know Cigarette boats I have no experience about Donzi's. What is Donzi quality, is it equal to Cigarette in terms of robustness, performance, handling?
Is there a real justification between the price of a Cigarette 39TG and a Donzi 38R (about 120K USD less)?
Thanks for your opinion!
Price difference was pretty close when new, difference used is due to high volumes of Donzis out there compared to lower production Cigs and Donzi is no longer in production. The 38 ZR's had some hull cracking issues a couple years back. I believe Donzi stepped up and took care of the owners but being the state of the company I wouldn't expect that now.

Maybe CustomRyder will chime in he has owned both, back to back if I recall.
Old 07-10-2010, 11:27 AM
Registered

Received 690 Likes on 276 Posts

Originally Posted by BowenCT
Can we toss Fountain in the mix just for S n'Gs?