The difference in Outdrives >

The difference in Outdrives

Notices

The difference in Outdrives

Old 05-30-2011, 04:40 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The difference in Outdrives

Bravo One,Bravo 111,X drives, XR drives??Drive showers??I'm sorry Guys I'm totally new to all this and I want to know as much about this stuff when I buy a boat..Thanks
Old 05-30-2011, 05:16 PM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 770 Likes on 352 Posts

Most GO-Fast boats are going to have either Bravo Ones or Bravo XR's.

The XR's are supposedly a little tougher than the Bravo 1's but the guys on here still manage to break anything Mercury throws at them.

All Bravo Variants will not have transmissions inside the boat, they will be in the drive itself.

Bravo III's are dual props, but you rarely see them on Go-Fast boats - they are usually on cruisers.

Alpha's are weaker drives that you will usually see behind Small Blocks.

TRS are tougher older drives that Mercury no longer makes. They have tranmissions inside the boat that attach to the back of the engine.

Drive Showers are nothing more than a little mechanism that shoots water up and drops it on top of the drive - they help cool the transmission that is in the top of Bravo and Alpha drives.
Old 05-31-2011, 06:27 PM
Charter Member
Charter Member

Received 46 Likes on 31 Posts
Default Ssm

Originally Posted by seafordguy
Most GO-Fast boats are going to have either Bravo Ones or Bravo XR's.

The XR's are supposedly a little tougher than the Bravo 1's but the guys on here still manage to break anything Mercury throws at them.

All Bravo Variants will not have transmissions inside the boat, they will be in the drive itself.

Bravo III's are dual props, but you rarely see them on Go-Fast boats - they are usually on cruisers.

Alpha's are weaker drives that you will usually see behind Small Blocks.