Notices

Go-fast for the Arctic?

Old 08-21-2011, 06:23 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Go-fast for the Arctic?

Hi all, my first posting in here so might as well introduce myself. I'm a boat/engine mechanic on Svalbard, a large island way north of northern Norway. Moved here three weeks ago and coming from way south of Norway, I miss seeing boats like Fountain, Cigarette, Rinker, Formula, Donzi and Nor-Tech's on occation, like I could back home.

That spurred an idea. How about purchase one and shipping it up here?

So here's what I need input and pointers on:

We get some good seas up here, 15-18ft waves and chops are seen often and I'm looking for a 30-40ft Go-fast boat that handles chops that high in a "get-home-worst case-scenario" and still runs good in chops/waves around 5-10ft. A light and nervous all out speed hull is of no use up here, unless youre strapped in and have a co-pilot with you, and weather can turn fast so you need something that can handle rough seas and bring you home safe if need be. I'm looking for a boat up to say $100k and it has to have a strong hull with some wave crushing capabilities. Year and make is not that important, capabilities and hull integrity is more important. No cats.

Any feedback highly appreciated.

Cheers!
kimo

Last edited by kimosabi; 08-21-2011 at 08:49 AM.
Old 08-21-2011, 06:39 AM
Member #154
Platinum Member

Received 864 Likes on 317 Posts

15-18 feet? Are you sure you posted on the right message board? I think you meant this post for "OceanLinersOnly.com"
Old 08-21-2011, 07:28 AM
Registered

Offshore is offshore. If a boat can't handle waves up to 18ft if need be, it ain't an offshore boat.
Old 08-21-2011, 07:52 AM
Registered

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts

47 apache ,
50 nor tech
anything large and heavy
i don't think any go-fast boat is made for that kind of rough water at any decent speed ,