Motor problems seeking advice >

Motor problems seeking advice

Notices

Motor problems seeking advice

Old 08-05-2012, 09:43 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Motor problems seeking advice

Hi I'm new to offshore only and have heard there's a lot of knowledge on here for the power boat owner so I thought I would give it a shot...

I have a 1999 hustler slingshot with twin 502 naturally aspirated engines with Holley carburators. For the last few months I have been having an issue that I can't seem to figure out. The boat runs great for about 20-30 minutes. Keeping the engines around 3200 rpm not touching the throttles the rpm gauge after 20-30 minutes will go down to 2800 back up to 3200 and won't stay stable. The more throttle I give it the rpm gauges go backwards like its getting choked out. So I back off the throttles completely and the engines will not idle the both shut off immediately. Putting the boat back into neutral and trying to power it back up again after its been ran for 20-30 minutes it will not start. Moving the throttle up little less than half throttle the motor will finally turn over and run up around 3500 or higher then fall down to the rpm it should be at with the throttle still being a little less than half throttle. After getting the engines started putting them back at idle which is around 1k rpm I go to put it in gear which then the engine falls down around 600 rpm and dies out and still won't stay started. The only way the boat will run after its been ran for 20-30 minutes is to wait around 3-4 hours and by that time it again will start and both engines will run again for another 20-30 minutes.