Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > General Boating Discussion
why i will not buy latham parts ever again..... imco for me! >

why i will not buy latham parts ever again..... imco for me!

Notices

why i will not buy latham parts ever again..... imco for me!

Old 11-05-2012, 07:48 PM
Registered

Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts
Default why i will not buy latham parts ever again..... imco for me!

i am in no way implieing that latham parts are bad, they are very good parts. with that said i am a budget builder when it comes to my projects, boats included. i am always piecing stuff together and doing anything i can do to save some cash. i am not sure if you guys have noticed or not but performance boating is not exactly a cheap hobby but i am addicted to it and i make it work. i purchased a latham hydraulic steering ram off of ebay some time back, that was the start of my steering upgrade. i purchased a pair of transom brackets and a helm valve off of the forum, i picked up a wingplate and helm post off of ebay later on. so i am getting excited now, i have all of the parts i needed minus plumbing parts and the studs to mount the wingplate to the drive. so i call latham up, as soon as they figured out that i did not have a account with them they got this attitude like they did not want to deal with me, i tell them that i needed mounting hardware for the wingplate, i knew it wasnt going to be cheap figuring on the high end im looking at 100 bucks or so... i was shocked when he told me it was around 225 for the studs and spacers i needed, keep in mind the wingplate it self was bought for 125. the imco drive cap with all of the hardware i believe is around 175 new. i tried multiple times to get information about what was so special about these studs so i could look for a cheaper alternative. i then asked if they took credit cards and they told me that they would take only check, money order or c.o.d...... what year is it again??? what industry are you in?? most p