A Mid 50yo PERSPECTIVE on "go-fast"

Notices

A Mid 50yo PERSPECTIVE on "go-fast"

Old 09-14-2013, 12:33 PM
Registered
Platinum Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A Mid 50yo PERSPECTIVE on "go-fast"

I'll probably get toasted, but here goes.....................

I've been boating for over forty years, mostly at LOTO and have watched boats change (mostly for the better) significantly over that time period, been to almost every Shootout and have enjoyed all of them, but now it's time to face facts, we're living and dying to fast.

I love to go fast just like the next guy, but all of us need to recognize our limitations and that there's time and a place for everything, when I was in my mid thirties everything had to be a thousand miles an hour too, now that I'm older I understand what my Father was telling me all those years, slow down, enjoy life, you've only got one, so make it count and live it.

We know some of these boats can go 160-180mph, isn't it enough that we know, do you have to show us and do dangerous flybys, I know some spectators love it, that doesn't make it right or safe, just because someone is misguided enough to anchor close to the middle of the channel should we buzz them, I say no.

Two wrongs don't make a right.

If you want to see what kind of speeds your beautiful boat can get, enter it in the Shootout or any of the other sanctioned closed course events, maybe take it offshore and go-pro your run and post it on youtube where we can all enjoy it where everybody stays safe, I LOVE those videos.

Maybe I'm just getting old, maybe wiser or maybe I just don't want to see anymore memorial stickers on our boats, I hope I didn't offend anyone, just my opinion, so it's only worth something to me, stay safe on the water and have fun, off my soap box.

Jim (aka joey)
Old 09-14-2013, 12:38 PM
21 and 42 footers
Platinum Member

Received 119 Likes on 61 Posts