Problems with Arneson 7M Surface Drives >

Problems with Arneson 7M Surface Drives

Notices

Problems with Arneson 7M Surface Drives

Old 05-10-2016, 03:34 PM
SORE MEMBER
Platinum Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

47Excalibur on here ran #7's and 1200 a side on that Huge Excalibur, IIRC the drives were modified per RIK but I cant find the thread
Old 05-10-2016, 03:45 PM
Registered

Received 341 Likes on 119 Posts

The boot coming off could be because a clamp broke or because someone forgot to tighten it correctly during the install. The drive failing with 1100+ HP is not surprising - to me at least and I am a relative novice on the Arnesons. The multiple trim cylinder failures are troubling.

Either way it sucks that you are going through this. Hope that you and Rik
can work it out.

Last edited by Marginmn; 05-10-2016 at 03:51 PM. Reason: spelling
Old 05-10-2016, 03:48 PM
SORE MEMBER
Platinum Member

This was the thread I was thinking about "Arneson and Skater come together to build one Bad Ass Fat Boy!" http://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/s...ml#post3862662
Old 05-10-2016, 03:54 PM
Registered

Received 66 Likes on 41 Posts

Well im waiting for rik to weigh in on this mess...
however it seems rik made the call on putting these 7 drives in front of big power.

Personally i would have put 8s on it so i could beat on it with no worries. When your spending this kind of coin on a boat whats another 20k to install the 8s, the weigh diff cant be more than 75 or 8 lbs a side or half the weight of a really fat girl... and you could mount your batteries forward if the weight changed the trim/ attitude...

The thong i find disconcerting is rik not responding to his customers call msgs and facebook attempts to contact him...
and there was another story on this thread about blowing another guy off for 3 months or so...wtf