Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > General Boating Discussion
Our declining hobby...sad days >

Our declining hobby...sad days

Notices

Our declining hobby...sad days

Old 06-15-2016, 09:53 AM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I agree. I have been redoing my trip engine 42' Fountain for almost two years. In that time two things have happened......I bought a 19' CC and put a 200 Merc Opti on it just to bomb around in and I have slowly lost my enthusiasm for my Fountain. I have burned a whopping $190 in fuel since mid April and have bought one gallon of injection oil. I rinse the thing out with a hose and it goes everywhere my Fountain went, all but at 58 mph. Don't get me wrong, I love my Fountain, except for this past Sunday when I spent 6 hours in the bilge hooking up all of the hoses, wires, and battery cables. It will be done in the next few weeks and I can honestly see myself selling it next spring and buying myself a used 30' CC with twin 300 clamp ons. I have had my fun with multiple big block I/O powered boats ranging from many 25 footers, to a few 31 footers, and now the 42'. It's time to scale back, not to mention never having to contort myself into a pretzel and bleed all over my bilge trying to replace a raw water pump impeller on a 90 degree day.
Old 06-15-2016, 10:09 AM
Registered

Received 258 Likes on 149 Posts

Originally Posted by 1000 islander