Notices

hard lessons.

Old 04-10-2017, 11:07 AM
Registered

Received 734 Likes on 329 Posts

You're responsible for your wake in a no wake zone or if you're the overtaking boat.
Old 04-10-2017, 11:28 AM
Registered

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

The chilling part is the guy who was so rattled that he just wanted to get home and see his kids instead of giving a statement... The older I get the more I understand what he was feeling. Just a horrible thing all around. Makes me nauseous and sad.
Old 04-10-2017, 02:05 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Thanks All for all the great posts on this subject. I am new to the performance boating hobby/passion. Motorcycles and fast cars I have been involved with all my life. I am learning from all on here. Thank You. Agreed on the reporting, Excellent Job. Agreed on never drink and opperate anything, Even a Lawnmower. Bad Shizzz just happens to anyone.
Old 04-10-2017, 02:41 PM
Registered

Received 90 Likes on 54 Posts

Originally Posted by Griff
One thing that was not mentioned in the article was they were headed pretty much directly into the setting sun.

I've run that same water at LOTO into the setting sun dozens of times and even at 50mph, a big wake that you didn't see coming or you thought was just 2-3' will be a 4-5' and will catch you off guard.
+1. Heading into that sun that time of day is is like running more than half blind. You cannot read the water.
Old 04-10-2017, 05:41 PM
Registered

Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts

Wobble, you got it. Boat wake, speed, sun in your eyes. Moot point.

Originally Posted by Wobble
Unfortunetly it has been proven that nearly everything will catch you off guard under these conditions. Very tragic for all the friends and family.