Notices

hard lessons.

Old 04-14-2017, 09:32 PM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I have spent more than 30 years in product development and testing. Trust me when I say everything is trial and error in every product development process including the use of CAD, FEA and CFD. I am an engineer but that is just the minimum degree to get into the business.
No way I could design a 180 mph boat without years of experience and testing. The CAD/FEA/CFD would just be tools to help validate each step along the way from going 120 mph then 130 mph, etc.
There is a good book on this subject called "To Engineer is Human" all should read it to understand my point. Most engineering disasters over time can be explained by a simple conclusion of the book......success leads to failure and failure leads to success.....
God bless those and their families that have lost there lives pushing the limits so the rest of us can learn.
I am also a student of aerodynamics and have watched the crash videos many times in this thread. The CFD modeling would be extremely complex as it it involves drives, props, thrust, lift,......but the aerodynamics of the crash once the cat leaves the water appears to be quite simple. Center of lift and center of gravity need to be close like on an airplane for the boat to "fly" straight. On a cat they are typically far apart so it flips with the rear heavy CG. Others have pointed this out so not a new revelation.
I don't have a solution but am confident a next generation of designers will.
Old 04-14-2017, 11:11 PM
Neno the mind boggler
VIP Member

Received 271 Likes on 96 Posts

Originally Posted by papps
There is a good book on this subject called "To Engineer is Human" all should read it to understand my point. Most engineering disasters over time can be explained by a simple conclusion of the book......success leads to failure and failure leads to success.....