Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Launch / Holeshot what is safe for your drives? (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/372913-launch-holeshot-what-safe-your-drives.html)

540Fever 08-10-2021 09:27 PM

Launch / Holeshot what is safe for your drives?

I realize it's a question with a million variables, but i'll ask anyway.

I'm new to boats, but have been around performance cars a long time so I understand power/parts/weight all play a factor. Generally speaking, if you're taking off from idle how aggressive should/can you be with the throttle? I had my boat out the first time last weekend and was really easing into it out of the hole in fear of breaking something. The guy I purchased from didn't seem like he beat on the boat at all, so it may just be his mindset to play it safe and put less stress on the drives. I've launched cars on slicks at 4k RPM and never had an issue, but maybe boats are different lol

What's the consensus?

SB 08-10-2021 09:31 PM

Pretend your boat has a very weak expensive outdrive that can and will break quickly. Oh wait, it does. :(
. Say no to ‘holeshots.”

Torque loading it is a killer.

JaayTeee 08-10-2021 10:11 PM

Originally Posted by 540Fever (Post 4801192)
I realize it's a question with a million variables, but i'll ask anyway.