Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > General Boating Discussion
Towing with a lifted truck..... >

Towing with a lifted truck.....

Notices

Towing with a lifted truck.....

Old 12-09-2002, 03:00 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question Towing with a lifted truck.....

I am seriously considering buying a GMC 2500 HD 4 door with a lift kit (up to 10") and tires.
The truck will have a towing capacity exceeding what I will ever need (22000 lbs).
My questions relates to stability when towing with large tires. I plan on using this truck to tow a 38 top gun with a triple axle trailer.
What kind of problems or handling issues would I expect with this kind of unit?
I would think the problems would be the same regardless of brand.
any ideas? Experiences?
Old 12-09-2002, 03:56 PM
Bayley

Default It's been done...

I've got no experience with what you are talking about, but I did see this rig at the SEMA show this year. Thought you might appreciate it.
Attached Thumbnails Towing with a lifted truck.....-%5Blas_vegas%5D26-talk-about-drop-hitch.jpg  

Old 12-09-2002, 03:58 PM
Registered

Received 14 Likes on 10 Posts

I've got two words...........Re-Gear.

Buck#183
Old 12-09-2002, 04:05 PM
Ginger or Mary Ann?
Charter Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

You got an awlful lot of leverage working on that hitch unless you have the struts that go to it.

Seems like there would also be a lot of floating at the tires too?
Old 12-09-2002, 04:22 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I can tell you my OLD Chevy wonders and sways a lot more now when I am on the freeway running 70. I lifted this one with 6 inch Sky Jacker springs front and back new shocks and steering suff and put 37 inch Good Year MT on it. I sure a newer truck has less efect though? Charlie
Attached Thumbnails Towing with a lifted truck.....-burb-2.jpg  
Old 12-09-2002, 04:25 PM
Charter Member#1545
Charter Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts