Why does it seem so many crooks prey on the High-performance boaters >

Why does it seem so many crooks prey on the High-performance boaters

Notices

Why does it seem so many crooks prey on the High-performance boaters

Old 07-23-2003, 08:58 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why does it seem so many crooks prey on the High-performance boaters

I've been actively following this forum on a daily basis for the last couple of weeks, as I am new to go-fast boating, and it seems there is alot of widespread discontent with well-known go-fast boat service providers. It seems predominately to do with engine builders. As a car hot-rodder, I'm a little surprised at the hands-off mentality of alot of high-performance boaters, but there still seems to be alot of people that have been ripped-off and taken advantage of. There seems to be pretty drastic situations where 10's of thousands of dollars worth of engine work was paid for and either subpar service was recieved, or either the engine builder ran off with everyone's money and subsequently filed Bankruptcy, etc.

I recall a few threads where there was mention of not taking your boat engine to some "redneck muscle car machine shop" but it seems to me that alot of the hot rod boat shops are full of crooks. As someone who has a background in hot rods and muscle cars, I can say I've never experienced such criminal service as has been described over and over here. Sure, the machine work might have taken a week or two longer than promised, but I have never had the expereince where used parts were substituted for paid-for new parts. That's just plain fraud and dishonesty. Maybe it's due to the fact that the hot rod/muscle car community is larger than the hot boat community and word travels faster.

Last edited by Monty; 07-23-2003 at 09:05 PM.
Old 07-23-2003, 11:17 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 133 Likes on 82 Posts