Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Anyone had a trailer powder coated before? (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/55661-anyone-had-trailer-powder-coated-before.html)

buck183 07-29-2003 08:32 AM

Originally posted by Jan
I was thinking about Rhino Lining my trailer, any thoughts on this.

Jan

I may be able to help a little on this idea.

I spray bedliners for a living. The amount of chemical it would take to coat my trailer at my cost wouldn't be worth it for me to do myself. There's also an issue of getting EVERYTHING coated good. I don't think it's possible to get into every spot and crack and do it correctly. This coming from someone that has sprayed over 200 bedliners this year alone.

If it's done correctly it would be a good product to use. Although I wouldn't recommend using "Rhino". I would recommend using someone that sprays a hot, high pressure liner. The end result would be better.

Buck

Shane 07-29-2003 08:40 AM

Check with BruceK from the board. He is as HONEST as the day is long. He will tell you if it is worht it or not. I know several people he has turned down simply because the cost to them would not be worth the work. He is a GREAT guy and does fabulous work. I know several OSO members that have had fantastic success with Bruce. He is an OSO sponsor and his company is called Thunder Coatings.

Cignificant 07-29-2003 11:23 AM

I had my k-planes and some hand rails coated two years ago by a local shop. They had corrosion on them and were sand blasted. They are already peeling, and look horrible. I have also heard that the zinc-primer helps - I'll probably have them re-coated this winter by someone that has more marine experience.

buck183 07-29-2003 01:30 PM

Originally posted by Cord