Notices

bench trial

Old 11-17-2003, 08:54 AM
Official OSO boat whore
Charter Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default bench trial

Ok, my noise citation is coming up for a bench trial tomorrow. This is my first time through and I'm representing myself. Although my boat was definitely exceeding the db limit, I believe that the test was not performed per the standard. So I was thinking of getting the officer to explain how he conducted the test and then refer back to the testing standard to show that he didn't follow it. Do I need to declare my evidence or witnesses? Will I have a chance to cross examine? Or is it more like small claims where the judge runs the show? Has anybody been through one of these? Am I approaching it correctly? Tips?
Old 11-17-2003, 09:46 AM
Official OSO boat whore
Charter Member

Yep, that was exactly the case with my insurance lawsuit. The lawyers kept on getting dressed down for acting like lawyers! I guess that trial really learned me a lot about the court system.

Well, it looks like the testing standard is very specific. The meter is to be held at exactly this set distance. It doesn't give a tollerance. I know that the meter was only held at arms length with no measured distance. I figured I'd ask the officer what distance he held the meter at and then tell him what the standard calls for. It also specifically states where the testing boat is supposed to be and that it wasn't there. They had to drift their boat behind mine so the meter would be behind the boat. The standard says the testing boat is to be too the side, not behind. Apparently the meter needs to be on a pole or something. The standard also says that the boats were "to be lashed together" and they were only held by hand. A couple of really nitpicky items, but I thought it might be enough to get the test thrown out. What are your thoughts?
Old 11-17-2003, 09:54 AM
Charter Member #655
Charter Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post