Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Who makes all wheel drive cars??? (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/64564-who-makes-all-wheel-drive-cars.html)

Waterfoul 11-24-2003 05:49 PM

Who makes all wheel drive cars???

As I am going to sell my boat and take a few years off to be a bonified "boat whore," I won't need my truck for towing. BUT, I have a long drive to work every day in all kinds of weather, and I've been driving 4 wheel drive vehicles (trucks) since 1990 and don't want to give it up.

I know Subaru and Audi make all wheel drive vehicles. I will have to buy used to keep it affordable. Anyone have any recomendations? Anyone have an all wheel drive car they can give me an opinion on???

'Foul

G-Force 11-24-2003 05:56 PM

I've seen a Mini-van that was AWD....Chrysler?
If you don't want to go that route :D they aslo made the Talon AWD as well....

Waterfoul 11-24-2003 05:59 PM

would rather have a sedan sized car. Or a small SUV (something that gets decent mileage). I still want to be able to tow my fishing boat (maybe 1000 lbs total weight).

NO MINI-VANS!!!!

RollWithIt 11-24-2003 05:59 PM

The old Eclipse had an all wheel drive version. BMW also has an version but it is newer and would be expensive. Best bet is to go with Audi or Subaru.

dockrocker 11-24-2003 06:00 PM

Mike, I'll sell you a 2003 Jaguar 2.5 X-type, awd, great in winter and everyone thinks you're loaded :) Only 10K miles - $25K. Only one problem - it's so nice on the road that you tend to, *ahem*, exceed the posted limit. A lot. ;)

G-Force 11-24-2003 06:05 PM

Crap...what was I thinking?
My 1995 Jeep Cherokee Limited is AWD...least wise it doesn't even have a 2WD option so I assume it's AWD.

Sydwayz 11-24-2003 06:05 PM

VW now has AWD on the Passat, as well as Volvo on the S60.