Notices

F'ing Engine Rules

Old 12-22-2003, 04:31 PM
Member #154
Platinum Member

Received 864 Likes on 317 Posts
Default F'ing Engine Rules

I've had many boats over the years and the urge to have more hp is a never ending quest. I've resisted modding my engines because I'm not a mechanic and I don't want to pay the high prices to have it done. If you have somebody do it for you, many times it's not done right and you're engine goes up when there's nobody around to tow you back to shore. I've seen friends go through major headaches due to engine mods, I've seen people working on their F'd up engine while everybody else is having fun on their boats. I see thread after thread in the Technical section on how somebody F'd with their perfectly good engine and now it runs like crap and nobody can figure it out. This is why I've resisted temptation to mod my engines and just be happy with stock. I never miss a day on the water because of it!! So...I've come up with some rules for engines after years of observation. Some of you might take issue with it because working on your engine is just as much fun as boating, which is cool, but for those of us not mechanically inclined, here ya go...

Rule #1...don't F with your EFI set up.

Rule #2...Better yet, don't F with your engine, it was designed to do ONE thing and it does it well.

Rule#3...If you want more hp, get a different boat or different engine that was designed for the intended application.

Rule#4...Don't worry about a few mph gain in speed, it really doesn't matter. The only thing it means anything to is the owner's ego, nobody else cares...so why put yourself through the headaches and expense.

Rule#5...If you want to F with something...F with your lawnmower engine...it's cheaper in the long run, and if you break it, at least you don't have to mow the yard!!!