Buying help needed... Interior fiberglass cracks >

Buying help needed... Interior fiberglass cracks

Notices

Buying help needed... Interior fiberglass cracks

Old 12-23-2003, 12:53 PM
andyw

Default Buying help needed... Interior fiberglass cracks

Hi Everyone,

I am looking at buying a 1996 Powerquest 340 viper w/ twin 502s.

I am new to the real powerboating world, as I've only owned a few 20-22' outboard speedboats.

Overall the boat is in pretty good condition, but I have a few concerns that I was hoping you could give me your opinions on:

1) Where the helm meets the fiberglass wall that divides the cockpit from the cuddy, there is a 2-3" crack that is around 1/16" or barely larger that follows the seam of the helm and the fiberglass wall. After the 2-3", the crack just stops. Is this something to be worried about? If so, how hard is it to fix?

2) There is a crack on the molded unit that houses the refrigerator, microwave, and sink. The crack is about 1-2" to the right of the cutout for the refrigerator. The crack starts about 2" below the refrigerator and runs parrellel to the cutout for the refrigerator to about 2" above the refrigerator. The total height of the crack is around 1-2 feet. The crack is only about 1/32 - 1/16" wide. It looks like someone may have tried to patch this and it came back. Is this one something to be worried about? If it is, how hard would this be to fix?

3) Lastly, there is a sharp angle (probably about 90 degrees) on the driver's side of the floor where the cockpit floor starts to meet the corner of the door going downstairs. This crack is also about 1/32" - 1/16" wide and is about 3-4" long. Is this crack something the be concerned about? If so, how hard would it be to fix?