Florida - Miami vs. Tampa St. Pete

Notices

Florida - Miami vs. Tampa St. Pete

Old 11-20-2003, 09:32 AM
Charter Member #300
Charter Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Florida - Miami vs. Tampa St. Pete

I was hoping my Florida OSO brethren could help me evaluate living aresa in Florida. There is nothing like local knowledge. I live on the No. Jersey shore on the water. Although this is one of the best places to live in Jersey, the place is out of control with taxes, cost of liveing, insurance, etc. but it has good labor market for IT (I'm a director/managing consultant). Fla. has been soft but I'm starting to get some pings again - I was almost moved just before the recession hit.

Knowing the lifestyle we share (boating) and the fact that I have school-age kids. What do you think are the best traits bewteen the areas of Miami and Tampa/St. Pete.

I am evaluating these on living conditions, cost of keeoing a boat (waterfront property or Marina). and best place to raise a family.

Just looking for some local knowledge.

Thanx
Old 11-20-2003, 09:41 AM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Miami boasts a fast paced, multi-cultural party atmosphere. There is a an abundance of wealth and a lot of poverty. It's certainly a more upbeat, late night kind of place. I can't speak for schools, etc. but my impressions of Miami the two times I've visited, is I would be hesitant to relocate my family there. Our Miami OSO friends can shed more light on this, though.