Notices

Cheaper Fuel

Old 06-18-2004, 12:50 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cheaper Fuel

I have a friend who is planning on buying a fuel tank to put in the back of his truck so he can fill his boat and others on their boat-lift rather than going to the marina to pay the high dollar amount.

Has anyone ever tried or know of anyone who has done this? I am an airline pilot and when they fuel aircraft they make sure that the plane is grounded to the truck and the truck is grounded to the ground. This is to prevent the Big BANG Theory.

I am curious and would like to find out any information, tips, pros, cons, ideas, so I can help him out. (And get some of that cheap gas to!)

Thanks

Frank
Old 06-18-2004, 12:53 PM
Registered

Default Re: Cheaper Fuel

All I know is I filled my boat last week for 2.30 a gall. now its 1.65 so I'm gonna burn all this expensive gas out this weekend so I can fill up with some of the cheaper stuff.
Old 06-18-2004, 03:18 PM
Danny_Ocean

Someone just got busted here for doing the same. I believe the charge was something like "transporting & distributing fuel without proper permits". I doubt anyone other than a commercial fuel hauler can obtain a permit. I also believe there are local, state & federal regulations regarding fueling a boat in the water from a land-based vehicle.

D. Ocean
Pompano Beach, FLA

Old 06-18-2004, 08:10 PM
Registered

Received 9 Likes on 2 Posts

I would think that if you werent selling it to other people but for personal use you should be ok. Here at work we use 100 and 150 gallon tanks to transfer forn for our equipmnet when we are in the sticks. YOu can put a 12 volt pump on with a filter set up and use a long hose with a standard fuel nozel on the end. Some will pump 15 gpm and others are faster. we don't ground them out together just pull up and start filling. Check with some of the larger road construction co's for tanks and see where they get there's from.
Old 06-18-2004, 09:15 PM
Banned