Notices

Attention Audiofn, Andy Buzz, and any other stereoheads

Old 06-18-2004, 02:04 AM
alj
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Attention Audiofn, Andy Buzz, and any other stereoheads

Hi Guys,
I'm setting up a stereo in my 85 F402. I have some technical knowledge since I had worked for a large consumer electronics manufacturer for about 19 years. However that knowledge is definetly limited. Here's what I started. Starboard engine has it's own 140 amp alternator feeding two Optima deep cycle marine batteries through a Arco Marine isolator. Those batteries go to a separate diesel battery switch which feeds power to the cabinet above the refrigerator. Cables from the battery switch and the ground from the battery bank are Ancor marine 2/0 cables. Nothing else but stereo equipment is on this system. I will be running #2 power cable from the terminal blocks to the respective amps. 12 guage speaker wire for the 4 component speakers from their passive crossovers back in the amp locker, 10 guage speaker wire to the subs.
The head unit is a JVC KDSH9750 with three 4 volt outs. This is their Digifine unit and has some frequency adjustment on it. I will be running 2 MTX thunder 6304 four channel amps 37.5 watts RMS advertised. MTX test sheet - 69 watts RMS into 4 ohms X 4; 112 watts RMS into 2 ohms X 4 all @ 12.5 volts. It's my understanding that these older MTX amps are much better than the current models. One amp will drive 4 speakers in the cabin. The other amp will drive 4 component speakers in the cockpit.