Notices

Boat Handling

Old 07-05-2004, 10:29 PM
Registered

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Boat Handling

I ran a search pattern SATURDAY night for a fellow boater that had crashed.
He is presumed dead.

Now is where I will probably get flamed.

For those of you that take a small slow boat and add gobs of HP to make it go faster you need to do one very important thing.

spend a little money on setting the boat up properly.
Proper set up may gain more speed then the added HP.

And before you flame me I have a lot of experience with this.

I had a 1977 Glastron Carlson CVX -18 that stock did 45 - 50 MPH when I bought it with a stock FORD 302 ( 188 HP )

When I sold it it did low 90's with a BOSS 302 ( > 500 HP )

I gained more speed from proper set up then by adding HP.

this boat was very ill handling at any speed over 70 untill I set it up properly.

Getting back to the story.

The man that died took an older high freeboard ( FAMILY style ) 18 ft checkmate outboard and installed a MERC 225 HP motor.

From others statements the boat was VERY ILL handling.

In this man's quest for speed he created a death trap.

If this boat had been properly set up he would probably still be breathing air instead of laying on the bottom of HARDY POND.

Some poor boater is probably going to find him next weekend when he come's to the surface.

SO if your boat is ILL handling and squirlly -- PLEASE spend a few $ and fix that problem first.
Old 07-05-2004, 10:45 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Boat Handling